top of page

7 year Anniversary!!!

OMG it has been 7 years since I caught that late night flight from Manchester to Alicante, and 7 years since that first ever time waking up in Benidorm, so here is a small insight into that first 6months and a collection of photos.


Chapter 1

The First 6 months were nothing from easy


I flew out late night from manchester on the 14th may 2013. I landed in Alicante very early morning on the 15th May to start my job as an overseas rep for a British travel firm.

Initially I was excited for my new adventure but so scared of leaving everything that I knew, my family and my friends behind. It was okay though it was only for 6 Months May to November, just a chance of a life time to work hard and do some soul searching.

The first Month was incredibly hard and a roller coaster of emotions with being so far away, not knowning the language and having to make new friends. All of this on top of a new job in a new country. I began to feel so home sick for my family, for my home comforts, for some of what I knew to be normaility (you have read the story about crying over milk).


June rolled in and around 4 weeks later my wonderful mother came over on what she likes to call her rescue mission. I had been struggling with a varity off issues, such as fitting in with fellow collegues, making friends, understanding and finding what I wanted in supermarkets. The only thing holding me there was loving the job its self and the Beautiful weather and beaches.

Now this rescue mission was not to resuce me and bring me back to West Yorkshire. Oh no she had completely diffrent idea of making me stay to finish off my contract. Which as said was only November. So reluctently I stayed. (btw if I have not said thank you mum I really do mean that)



July rolled in and the weather got warmer, i was doing well in my job,when not working hard I spent my spare time on the beaches, in the bars, and with a few friends that I had finally made. I was still missing home but the month passed so quickly.


August 2013 I met a man he was working in one of the hotels. This man then went on to change my whole world!! He took me to places I never would have know existed, he made me happy and relaxed and feel so welcome.

I fell in love with his country with his culture and with him.

September and October came along, work was busy these are the main months of visits for stag and hens groups. My relationship progressed with the gorgeous Spanish man, he was contiuing to show me places outside of Benidorm that I never would have known about if it was not for him. My love of the country, The area, The food and him, by this point we where spending all our time together, I was staying over at his house, Everything was going so well in this wonderful place and with this wonderful man I began to wonder if I was actually lucky enough for this to be my life or was I dreaming


November rolled in the weather got colder and gloomier as did the mood at work, it was end of contract and time to go home. we where all awaiting to find out what countries we would be working in next summer, and also waiting to find out if we would be working winter and which half. 1st) November to Feb or 2cd) Feb to May. i was hoping for winter 2 and summer in the same location as i had fallen in love with the place and this man.

But for now it was time to get on that flight back to Manchester and head home to West Yorkshire, leaving this wonderful man and my heart in Spain.

Luckily for me that was not the end of My story in spain !!!


Stay tuned for chapter 2!!!


88 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page